Middle distance triathlon: an obituary (Vitruvian 2013)

Use this to post your race reports, posts must contain references to your obligatory mid pee fart...

Middle distance triathlon: an obituary (Vitruvian 2013)

Postby CCS » 02 Sep 2013 09:43

So.
Farewell then,
middle distance triathlon.

Middle?
You seem like
a very long way
to me.

I am not very good at you either.
Farewell!

Where: Rutland Water
When: 31 August 2013
Organiser: Pacesetter events http://www.pacesetterevents.com/vitruvian-triathlon.php
Course details: Undlating bike and flatish run
Distance(s): Distances 1.9km Swim, 85km Bike, 21km Run
Marshalling: Plenty – and loads of snack stops (though jaffa cakes don’t do well in the sun…)
Facilities: Cafe, trade stands, portaloos (not enough, and could have done with one in transition)
Technical: chip timing
Freebies: Hoody, red bull, High 5 bottle, finishers T-shirt, medal

Perfect weather conditions – sun (but not too hot), little wind, warm water in the lake (despite it being oop north) – what could possibly go wrong?

Pre-Race:
Alarm went off at silly o’clock (you know something isn’t right when there are still folks wandering around the hotel clutching bottles of beer, and you are getting up and going out!). Quick banana; cup of coffee made to drink in the car; loaded up (including a random punter and his kit, who I found wandering in the hotel reception looking for a lift); and off to Rutland water.